Automated Recognition of Interesting Price Trends - my software

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by mglomba, Nov 19, 2011.

1. mglomba

mglomba

Hi,

I am a software engineer but also interested in practical data mining of financial time series (did MSc and dropped out of PhD in this subject).

I have became tired of analyzing individual charts and reports looking for mid-term investment opportunities and last evening finally decided to create a simple thing for myself, now made it public: www.strongtrends.com

The tool automatically analyzes price trends of multiple financial instruments on daily basis, allowing you to discover strong and stable price movements that might become interesting investment opportunities. Trend stability metric is calculated for each financial instrument which is then classified as stable, crazy or chaos - a greater value means a stronger, more stable trend.

Hope you will find it useful too, for me the selection process is now must easier.

Regards,
    Michal

2. maxpi

maxpi

That is kind of cool. :cool:

3. You say:

EURSEC stable
    USDSEC stable

But then

EURUSD crazy?

How come two stable variables when devided produce a crazy variable?

Maybe do you want to start by explaining this one?

I don't discount in advance that you may have a good explanation.

4. mglomba

mglomba

Hi Intrabill,

Thanks for your questions, they are absolutely valid.

First, please note that classification into "stable", "crazy" and "chaos" is completely bespoke and based on the stability metric range, however the numerical value of metric should actually indicate how price movements of a given instrument are stable comparing to others. The higher the metric is the less the price trend is disturbed by fluctuations and the metric is itself is not normalized to trend angle. So really, the goal for strongtrends is to recognize past price trends with minimal fluctuations.