Automated pattern recognition

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by ivob, May 20, 2006.

1. ivob

ivob

Hello,

Does anyone know of a software program that automatically detects certain patterns in price development such as W formations, cups, etc?

Has anyone of you ever tried to write something like that and what are your findings? Do you think it is possible or would the human eye always be better in recognizing?

I am a programmer myself (perl) and am considering starting a project but would like to find out what has already been done and what your thoughts are about this.

Regards,
    Ivo

2. lastick

lastick

Don't waste your time, it doesn't work.
    Nevertheless if you want to try it, choose a faster language than perl.

3. mokwit

mokwit

Some textbook patterns including the ones you mention are available for Tradestation, but in practice I have found it just as good if not better to set alerts for volume cues and then look at the chart..........................

4. ivob

ivob

Hello,

Why do you think it doesn't work?

I cannot judge at this moment whether it is fast enough or not but :

1. I imagine this also depends on the timeframe I want to trade. If every millisecond counts it may be too slow. Actually from the little testing that I have done it's not too slow and no delay can be noticed.

2. It depends on the calculations that are made and what you want the system to do. If for instance the system is programmed to give me a signal when a cup is formed then I can wait for the handle myself and trade manually. Of course if this works it can be improved later.

3. It depends how it is programmed, if the system runs as a daemon, etc.

regards,
    Ivo

5. agpilot

agpilot

Ivo
    If my memory is right, I think John Murphy had played with this along with Metastock software several years back. (Murphy wrote several TA books and Metastock is a software charting program) I hope this is what your searching for... Good luck... agpilot

6. rosy

rosy