Automated email signals executer.

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by drasfs, Nov 25, 2005.

1. drasfs

drasfs

Is it possible to make an automated system that when it receive emails with signals it can analyze the entry,stop and profit takes and execute it with a platform such as vtrader. Or maybe there already is one available.

If not, how much would it cost to hire a programmer do develop this software?

2. in other posts you said you were a new trader...now you are automating?

http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?threadid=59484

Im asking these questions as Im new to the market, and I want to get a feeling on how well I do against professionals, and how much I have to improve to get there.

3. francis1

francis1 ET Sponsor

I'm not sure what you mean by 'signals' but if those are orders then you can use TradeBullet to read those emails and send the order it contains to a broker.

Francis

4. drasfs

drasfs

Sorry if Im confusing you, but if I want to continue to put as much energy as Im doing now, I want to have the option to automize my trading sometime in the future when Im profitable.

5. ok..its none of my business, but don't you think you should learn to trade first?

sorry I will shut up now...bye

6. lakka

lakka

one can of course develop a program to do this
    it can also be achieved using batch scripting and the right tools.
    for downloading the emails one can probably use
    getmail for windows
    http://www.interlog.com/~tcharron/getmail.html
    or
    postie
    http://www.infradig.com/

then grep info from the downloaded msg
    and create order files
    for tools like tradebolt , tradingsimulation.com, brackettrader,ninjatrader etc.

looks pretty straight forward if one is using a broker with tools for reading order files.

just outlining the basic steps here if anyone is interrested
    as ElectriCS mentioned also a good idea to learn to trade.....