Aspiring Quant

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by alban060600, Jan 29, 2021.

1. Hi,

I am a 3rd year Math student, I am aspiring to become a quant. I should be attending a prestigious mathematical finance masters programme after I finish this bachelors (as long as I don't completely mess up my exams), however I wanted to start dabbling with some quant trading now, preferably with a demo account because I have no money (life of a student haha).

I was wondering if anyone knew of any good resources or the best way in general to go about starting this up for myself. I want to get some experience in quant trading but I have no idea where to start. My mathematical background is strong-ish and I can code relatively well (python, R, C++, MATLAB). When I mean I have no idea where to start, I have no idea. I've been researching but I can't find anything coherent. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

tayte likes this.
  2. trading with demo account vs real account might as well not even exist. you think you can make a program to do it automatically and dispassionately. you cannot... you will probably waste ages developing systems just to find out they don't work. it depends on so much more than just coding. its a mental game too. no one is looking for quants to hire, they will try to do pompous shit like an unpaid internship just to get yelled at by bald idiots.

my suggestion is , just read a lot. im an autodidact so i cant relate much

3. There's few quant forums out there, I'd suggest getting involved there, you'll learn a ton.

alban060600 likes this.
  4. bluelou

bluelou

P.M. me. I can point out good quant fora, programming libraries, lit reviews, books, etc.

5. 2rosy

2rosy

6. Baron

Baron ET Founder