Article says Cash Account can be qualifed as daytrader

Discussion in 'Economics' started by xtech, Aug 27, 2002.

1. xtech

xtech

Read an article in Active Trader Magazine, said determination was made that cash accounts can meet SEC Pattern Day Trader Rules since it takes 3 days to settle transaction, therefore borrowed money. Online broker Reps said cash accounts not subjected to this rule. Anyone expierience this situation? Comments please....

2. sure you can be subject in a cash account if the broker lets you trade it that often.i think most brokers have software that limits your trading before that happens.i know in my ib ira cash account it wont let me trade till the trade settles.

3. dr_ma

dr_ma

I am a broker and our firm already enforces "daytrader type" rules in cash accounts. Basially a cash account is only allowed to use the cash they have at the opening to buy, sell, and then buy again. This means if I have $2000 I can buy $2000 worth of stock then sell it later in the day, and then buy another $2000 worth of stock. If I decide to sell again I get hit with a freeride violation. I think this new interpretation is totally bogus for a number of reasons, but I really don't feel like getting into it. Anyone that understands three day settlement and basic logic will know this intepretation is flawed.

4. As far as I know, the daytrading rules apply to margin accounts only and daytrading is only allowed in a margin accounts. I haven't read the article in active trader magazine yet.