Arithmetic ability

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by rjmahan, Jan 11, 2004.

1. rjmahan

rjmahan

Hi,
    I am looking to become a trader, the problem I keep running into is maths aptitude tests. I am very very slow when it comes to mental arithmetic.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I may improve. I have tried learning things like cross multiplication and some systems and I have imporved a little but I am still dog slow. I have done lots and lots of practice with books, but even then - still slower than most people. Also I find I can do a calculation if it is written down in front of me but if it is spoken to me - I forget the numbers ! ! !

I am not dumb - despite apearances to the contrary, I have a degree from Oxford but in my own private trading I dont find I need arithmetic and in my general life it isnt so useful to me either.

Responses would be greatly appreciated

2. What do you need to calculate? Profits, losses and sizes?
    Guess you mean daytrading or scalping where you need to be fast.

I am still looking forward to the day i´m having trouble calculating my profits :p

3. I got good in mental arithmetic by running. I would do split times in my head. I would estimate my speed, distance etc. It taught me to do fractions etc in my head. Even trying to guess your reciept total in a store can help. You must be able to mentally picture something and it helps. If you have difficulty to determine complex number calculations, just estimate numbers. This will also help. Then if you need the exact number use a piece of paper or a calculator.
    Also remember that nowdays your computer/trading platform can do all the math for you. Just relax ,focus on the market and let the computer do its job:)

4. Great advice from private island.....don't focus on the math so much....try to get an "intuitive grasp" of the numbers...I think it really helps......Do you have a good memory? Like remembering where XYZ was when ABC was here or there?