Are you STILL excited/happy with being a daytrader as the day you first started?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by volkl23, Apr 15, 2006.

1. volkl23

volkl23

This has been on my mind a lot recently. I am seriously considering taking the plunge and becoming a full-time daytrader. My gains have been modest, but atleast I'm still in the black. I am having difficulty understanding why I want to become a daytrader. The money can be nice and the action can be exciting at times (but can be rather boring when I follow my rules to the 't').

I'm sort of in a quadary. I graduated from a top-10 university and was planning to go to law school until I was bitten by the trading bug. I just hope if I pick trading as a career, it won't be short-lived for whatever reasons.

So fellow traders... what were your original motivations on becoming a daytrader. Has your drive waned since? Are you still happy with this "career"? How long have you been in it?

Thanks everyone!

2. Burnout at times, but then I just take time off. I also trade in blocks of only about two or three hours most days.

Original motivation was the freedom it provides to do anything I want, and live where ever I want. Still stoked as far as that is concerned.

Can't think of a better career.

I've been a full time day trader since April, 1987 (yep, just a few months before that little episode in October of that year). I have taken sabbatical of up to 5 months on a few occasions though, where I did nada.

Jay

3. Make sure you know how to run a proper business, make sure you have been profitable for the last few years, make sure you have ample capital, good risk/money management skills....

Trading as a career can be a great one, but also a very bad one.

Make sure you don't base your decision on what other people have to say. If you think you can do it, give it a shot!