Are you a Trader or Speculator?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by yobo, Oct 23, 2011.

Are you a Trader or Speculator?

1. I am a trader.

16 vote(s)
    47.1%
  2. I am a speculator.

18 vote(s)
    52.9%
  1. yobo

yobo

Definition of Trading: To exchange one thing for another.

Definition of Speculator: To engage in the buying or selling of a security with an element of risk on the chance of profit.

Which one are you?

I'll answer the question first. When I first got in this business I considered myself a trader but was really a speculator. I would buy and short stock with the hopes of it going in my direction. I did not receive anything for doing so unless I was able to close my position at a profit.

I eventually learned pair trading. While this helped to remove market direction, I was still "speculating" on the spread either widening or narrowing.

Than I learned about selling calls and puts against stock and cash reserves, and I finally crossed the chasm into real "trading." I began selling covered calls and puts, thus trading a right for someone to buy my stock or to sell me their stock at certain prices. And in exchange, I got cash or stock.

In learning to make markets, I finally became a trader crossing the chasm from being speculator. I no longer fear waking up the market will crash or zip higher. I simply sit back and collect cash for providing a service to speculators.

What a wonderful world. So what are you? A speculator or trader?

2. I'm a gambler

3. cornix

cornix

According to given definitions: a speculator.

But I don't find anything scary about that. Maybe I do something wrong? :)

4. According to your definitions I am a speculator.

But I should add that I`m not yet worthy of the title as I am still also a gambler.

I constantly work on closing the gap between gambler and speculator.

Currently, I will say that I`m 75% speculator/25% gambler. :p