Are you a daytrader or a swing trader?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by gotta_trade, Jun 8, 2003.

1. Plain and simple:

Are you a daytrader or a swing trader?

I'll start:

I'm a daytrader and I'm dipping my toes into the world of swing trading.

What about you???

2. Merlin

Merlin

Right now I'm a day trader. There is way too much risk in taking something home overnight. I do understand there is some real money to be made by doing this because I have in the past. In this market the risk is just to great. Another terrorist attack in the states could easily destroy my account.

3. I thought it was interesting when you started that "swing journal." Several weeks earlier I had decided I was going to use half my trading capital (actually "trading buying power") for longer-term trades. Best trading decision I've ever made.

I still daytrade the Qubes -- but instead of trading 10,000 (or more) shares per trade intraday, I scaled that down to 5-7K.

Meanwhile the swings are proving to be VERY satisfying -- and profitable! What I do on the "swing side" is to have about 10 trades working at all times. In the past 2 weeks I've been net short on the swings and have cracked'em pretty good.

While I do monitor the swings during the trading day -- I make most of my adjustments during the last hour of trading. I use Tradestation as my trading platform and have about 100 stocks in my Workspaces that I shuttle in and out of for the swings.

... For all here who ONLY daytrade -- I highly recommend allotting a portion of the trading acct for longer term trades (I'm not talking years or even months -- 2 to 14 days is what I'm working with now).

dog:cool:

4. JT47319

JT47319