Are two samples from same population?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by abattia, Nov 16, 2011.

1. I’m studying how price evolves after a specific event occurring at T1 (when last traded price is P1) to compare it with how price evolves at another time T2 (P2) when the event doesn’t occur.

During a given time period (let’s say 1 hour) after T1 (or T2) I record the maximum amount by which price moves above P1 (or P2) during that time. Then, over a large number of such measurements, I obtain a distribution over price levels above P1 (or P2) that shows how many times over the whole sample each price was the max price reached above P1 (or P2) during the following hour.

So for clarity’s sake, to illustrate the distribution above P1 for a few levels:

PRICE LEVEL = = Number of times this was max level during the hour
    P1 + N ticks - - > z
    …
    P1 + 3 ticks - - > d
    P1 + 2 ticks - - > c
    P1 + 1 ticks - - > b
    P1 - - > a

… and for P2
    P2 + N ticks - - > Z
    …
    P2 + 3 ticks - - > D
    P2 + 2 ticks - - > C
    P2 + 1 ticks - - > B
    P2 - - > A

What is the simplest statistical test I can use to establish whether the P1 distribution (a, b, c, d, ….,z) is from the same population as the P2 distribution (A, B, C, D, …,Z)?

2. If I recall correctly you can use the Kolmogorov-Smirnov Test (K-S Test) for two populations.

3. Many thanks! I'll read up on it tomorrow!

4. I think that should probably do it. Your null hypothesis will be that the two samples come from the same distribution. A p-value < 0.05 rejects the null hypothesis.

You have to use frequencies with this test but I think that is what you have already, so application will be straight forward.

5. Kolmogorov-Smirnov is a really good, general nonparametric test, but be careful with its small sample performance.

That's especially problematic if you have to estimate the distributions of BOTH samples using an empirical cdf.

6. Thanks!

7. kut2k2

kut2k2