Are there pullback systems that backtest well?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by jimcrist, Feb 24, 2004.

1. jimcrist

jimcrist

I'm a swing trader that trades breakouts using a system I developed and backtested. I tried to develop and backtest a pullback system, but I was never able to find a system that backtested well. I'm curious as to why this is. Is it 'cuz breakout systems are just better than pullback systems or is it 'cuz I never hit on a good system or what? Does anyone have a pullback system that backtests well? Any insights on this conundrum are appreciated.

2. lindq

lindq

What parameters were you testing for a pullback system that wasn't giving you good results? My experience has been that a good pullback system is easier to trade and generally more profitable than breakouts for swing trades.

3. nitro

nitro

Yes.

nitro

4. Perhaps try this book (p.92):

http://www.acmetrader.com/pages/917519/index.htm

Q
    The Acme F System is based on the work of W.D. Gann and a recent book by Steve Woods called The Precision Profit Float Indicator. The float of a stock is simply the number of shares that are available for trading. By analyzing the supply and demand patterns of a certain stock based on its float, the F System pinpoints breakout points and turning points by combining float turnover with chart patterns such as triple bottoms and pullbacks.
    UQ

:confused:

5. works for me so far .... but you do have to pick your market and your spots very very carefully.

Pullbacks are harder to trade too because you can't really scale in - there isn't enough space in a pullback - it's time & length constrained. So you have to bet big going in on the first pass - which can result in crippling losses if you on the wrong side facing a runaway market.

Breakouts are easier to trade in the sense that you can put small bets on and scale in as you go along - trends are longer and take more time. Each loss in the chops is small.