Are there any age limits on Trader recruitment?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Suley, Nov 9, 2005.

1. Suley

Suley

Hello everyone, new to this interesting site, so I thought I would try and get some info if I can.

My question is are there any age limits on being recruited as a trader for an institution?

I am from London, but I am currently working in Tokyo in FOREX and have experience in other countries like Indonesia and China within fund sales, so I know I am genuinely interested in the job.

I have a university degree in Electronics and I am returning to university to gain some education in the field of choice, perhaps a Masters from Oxford or LBS, but I am worried that by the time I finally graduate from uni I may be too old for the job.

If all goes to plan I will have graduated at the age of 30/31, thats with international work experience and post graduate education.

What do you guys think?

I understand that this is mainly a US based site, but any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

2. Verdais

Verdais

If you have experience, 30/31 isn't too old. From the title of the post I was expecting you to be 47 or something.

Another thing to consider... if you can make money, age is irrelevent.

3. Suley

Suley

Hi,

Thanks for the reply, I have heard that there are age limits for the lifetime of a trader, as in that come a certain age they are too old too recruit for institutions.

Also I know that if you can make money age is irrelevant, but some recruitment processes are draconian at best.

Thanks

4. dac8555

dac8555

i dont know a lot of guy over 40...or any over 50 in trading. Most have gone to management. I would say starting out at 40 plus would be tough..younger guys often can take a bit more abuse.

5. MAESTRO

MAESTRO

I'm 50 this year. Go check my performance! My partner is 62. You should see him trade! Age limit? Bullshit!

6. dac8555

dac8555