Are Stops really the traders best friend

Discussion in 'Stocks' started by taowave, Feb 11, 2013.

1. taowave

taowave

Hi all,
    I am an equity volatility trader who is looking to add a directional component to my trading.Like most of you,almost every great directional trader I have read about will not trade without price stops.WE have all heard the Let your Profits run,cut your losses short Mantra.

Yet whenever I backtest,it appears that stops significantly reduce the profitability of a system.What is it about Stops that everyone swears by them,yet they do not appear to increase total profitability or the risk reward.

FYI,with growth stocks I am looking at an Oneil approach.He is a strong advocate of 7-8 percent stops with no exception to the rule.

I also look at things from a value perspective,and I really dont know any value oriented traders who employ a tight stop discipline..

Any thought?

Thanks in advance

T

2. Eyez

Eyez

Ok, so your long/short and the market falls/rallies 500 ticks in 5 seconds. You don't have a stop, what do you do?

3. Use Wide Stops that account for a market's potential range of movement in order to remain in the trade. The wide stop is to only be used to get you out of the trade in the case of a disaster.

Use Trade Management to cut your losses. DO NOT wait for your stop to get hit....I repeat....DO NOT wait for your stop to get hit.

forget about backtesting...you can't backtest trade management.

4. Have you compared the relative drawdowns, stops vs. non-stops?

5. taowave

taowave

I am going thru all that now.

Perhaps its a style of trading,but guys like Oneil,Zanger and Mark Minervini all stop themselves out at 7-8 percent.And its not like they are trading low vol stocks.

I may break the analysis down between
    value vs growth stock
    Buying stocks at highs vs pullacks