Are settlement rules different for daytraders?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by IronFist, Dec 8, 2005.

1. I'm a newbie to all of this. Sorry if this has been covered before.

I have an account with Scottrade (I'm not a day trader), and it says there are rules about funds settling after a trade, and what you can do with that money in the meantime. So basically, if you buy and sell, you can buy again with the funds from the first trade, but you can't sell this second position until the first one has settled, which takes 3 days.

So are day traders immune to this rule? I would think that with trading multiple positions per day with a large percentage of their trading capital, they would violate this rule in a day or two.

What am I missing? Thanks.

2. Please help a n00b out. None of the 54 people who have viewed this thread are day traders?

3. The rules you mention are for cash accounts trading stocks. Either get a margin account with $25K or trade futures to get around this.

-Raystonn

4. I have also encounted this rule. It's called "free-ride". It seems that violating it will cause serious consequence.

5. And on that note, doesn't day trading give you 4:1 margin? So if it takes $25k to open a day trading account, how could anyone trade with less than $100k?

Second question: If you have $25k in your day trading account and you lose money on your first trade and it drops down to $24,500, do you lose your day trading abilities because you're now under $25k?

Thanks.

6. rwk

rwk