Are reversals after a breakout bad?

Discussion in 'Stocks' started by trendisyourfriend, Jul 31, 2021.

1. Hi guys, I'm new to live trading but I've been studying the canslim method of trading stocks for a while.

I usually look at Stocks On The Move and see which growth stocks are breaking out of bases on heavy volume.

One stock that caught my eye is BY. It has good fundamentals (EPS rating of 97). I don't like that its RS line isn't at a new high though. It broke out of a 12 week base on July 30. It gapped up past its buy point of 23.77 but then reversed and closed near the bottom of the day's range.

I'm a bit confused. The stock gapped up, which is bullish but then it reversed. Is this price action considered bearish? I've included a chart for BY for you guys to see the price action.

Thanks

murray t turtle likes this.
  2. Handle123

Handle123

You learn by looking at past of stock charting, what happened before when there was day where price gapped up?

3. Thanks for the response Handle. IBD says base breakouts with a gap up is very bullish. This is based on their historical analysis.

However, IBD doesn't talk about whether it's bullish/bearish if the stock gaps up out of a base but reverses and closes near the day's low.

4. 80% of BO fail.

In your scenario, thats all that happened.

trendisyourfriend likes this.
  5. KCalhoun

KCalhoun

Key to trading breakouts is to anticipate that they usually fail, just above prior resistance... so wait til after false breakout pivots down, and enter above small bullish cup that then forms.

It took many years to learn that, the hard way.

zghorner and murray t turtle like this.
  6. There you go again... talkin' "Price TA".