Are option prices linked to devidends

Discussion in 'Options' started by ricairns, Mar 21, 2011.

1. ricairns

ricairns

I am fairly new to option trading, so this is probably a very silly question.
    If I were to buy 300 shares of ABC a few weeks before X-Devidend day. Then as the price of the stock runs up just before X devidend day I write 3 covered calls that are close to the money. Right after X Devidend day when the stock price adjusts downward, can I then close out my option postion and pocket the difference??
    Also, If I purchase a stock almost immediately after X Devidend day, am I liable for the taxes, if so how long before I am no longer liable?

Finally can anyone suggest some trading stagegies that combine devidends and covered calls/puts?

Thanks in advance

Ric

2. MTE

MTE

Dividends are priced into options so there is no free money to be made.

3. spindr0

spindr0

There are no free lunches

If it looks too good to be true, it is

4. ptrjon

ptrjon

I heard Ameri - prise gives free lunches.

5. sle

sle

Well, not exactly true - there are a lot of hedgies that do div arb. You sell a lot of puts, delta-neutral and hope that there are some people who did not get the memo and forget to early ex.

6. donnap

donnap

Wouldn't that be ITM calls? There's still risk - not free money.

7. sle

sle

Delta - neutral, not full delta. The actual risk is being short gamma.
    And you are right, deep ITM calls.

8. sle

sle

Sorry, being dumb - it's been a while since I've looked at equity vol. You sell deep ITM calls vs delta, no need to trade anything else.

9. FSU

FSU