are my commisions any good??

Discussion in 'Trading' started by jmi0493, Aug 7, 2001.

1. jmi0493

jmi0493

I am a prop trader who trades nasdaq level ii, i have a 70/30 split and pay .01 a share base, plus .01 for ecns except for isld, .55 for soes and .27 for cancels. Is that fair or am I geting reemed??

2. Ouch! I vote "reemed." In essence you pay 2-cents for a lot of your orders, AND you have to give up 30% of your profits. That is not the absolute worst deal I have heard of, but it is up there. Can I ask what firm you are with?

If you would like to compare, here is a link to the fee schedule at ECHOtrade (AND FOR DISCLOSURE, I TRADE THERE):

http://www.echotradeonline.com/fee_schedule/

There you keep 100% of profits, trade for 1-cent per share or less, depending on volume, and the ECN rates are much cheaper than you are paying (they are at the bottom of that fee schedule page).

-Jim

3. Babak

Babak

ok this might seem like a really stupid question but since I pretty much have no clue as to 'firm' or prop trading I'm sure you'll excuse it

so how does echotrade make money? is it then simply a broker? making money from commissions?

thank you for the enlightenement that will surely follow

:)

4. Babak,

All of these prop and pro firms also make money on their commissions as well as any cut they take of profits. In Echo's case, they make money the same way as IB, give out really good rates to attract the big traders that do a lot of volume and make the money off the commissions.

Echo does back (put up all the money for) and train people occasionally, and works out individual arrangements with these people to keep some of the profits as a result of the training and capital.