Are my ambitions too much?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by drosengarden, Mar 24, 2008.

1. Hello all!

Let me first preface this post by stating that I am greatful for your comments, feedback, and observations to my ideas and thoughts.

I am new to trading. But I know that something must be done if I ever want to "break the mold" of my "better than average" ordinary Joe status. So I've been looking at trading - and I get this idea that I've heard over time! DAY TRADING!

I've come up with a very simple strategy that compares 5min 30 bar breakouts with 1min 30 bar breakouts as indicators to Buy/Short the SPY. So far - based on total systematic transactions - I've returned $21,371.70 (I think after commissions if I understand my broker's commission structure correctly and I'm not surprised with other 'hidden fees') in 10 days (on paper) using an investment capitol of $125,000. (Roughly purchasing/shorting 960+/- shares at each transaction - about an average of 8 trades per day - always closing out at the end of the day.)

This looks very attractive to me! However - I now feel lost.

I require the ability to create an "automated trading platform" to execute these positions for me - giving me the ability to have a "limited" watch over the market's performace. A simple alert that I've been put in/taken out every now and again will be enough for me to be "in control" of the situation.

I feel lost because I started out not knowing where to find an automated trading platform like this - to now finding TOO MANY. And then some you must go with the broker who provides the software - others - I don't quite understand how it works, etc., etc.

Like I said - I am new.

I wonder if you could help me better understand about what it is I am considering jumping into here.

What do I expect for commissions? (Hidden fees, etc.?)

What do I expect for ability of orders to be placed and honored "immediately."