Approx 100K

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by DylanTrades, Feb 5, 2007.

1. Hello,

I have posted a few times on this site with questions and have always received a wealth of information. Thanks.

My questions is this: I am a young 30s small business owner who generates an annual salary for myself of approx 100k. The business I own has unique hours weekdays (early afternoon till evening 4 days a week and Saturdays).

I also have a strong interest in the market and trading.
    It is something that I would like to incorporate into my life. I have a prop firm in NYC who is willing to let me come on with full knowledge of my current work schedule. I told the firm that I could trade full time two days per week and 9am-1pm 3 days a week. Through all the posts that I have have read on the site they are definitely one of the more reputable names in the industry - if you can say that. They are going to sponsor me for my S7 and away I go.

My question is there anyone else out there who has had a similar relationship with owning a business or holding down a job that generated a decent living outside of trading. I am not about to leave a business that generates decent cash flow day in day out to be at terminal so I can trade the close every day of the week and be worrying about my mortgage and bills.
    (By the way - I am married - no kids - not overextended financially)

On the other hand can I develop as a Trader while maintaining this type of schedule. Also with all the the info on this site what % of Prop traders that actually stay in the game are consistently generating 100K + per year. Is it wiser for me to continue to just focus on my current business and fill my SEP retirement account and follow the market in my own time.

Thanks for any input.