applying for a mortgage as a pro trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by drp7804, Jan 25, 2011.

1. drp7804

drp7804

Wanted to know if any professional traders here have tried applying for a mortgage...? How did that go; were you approved? How much scrutiny was given to your profession, income, etc? I'm mainly referring to traders who don't earn a salary/wage from some other line of work.

I'm currently a software engineer, but also trade the regular-hours US equities sessions (automated). I see a fork in the road at some point ahead where I'm hoping to focus my time solely on trading, but also want to move my family to a new house, among other things. My line of thinking thus far has been to hold the day job long enough to secure the mortgage... but curious nonetheless how easy it might be to get the mortgage if trading were the only profession listed on the application. I'd assume the longer the history of consistent profitability the better.

Any insight, anecdotes, etc would be awesome. Thanks in advance.

2. jokepie

jokepie

... Just pay it all in CASH.

3. Bob111

Bob111

describe professional trader...
    i've tried to apply with my wife..my income from trading like six figures..wife making some money on regular job 50-60K..i file as unemployed..they don't understand a thing from my taxes..20K interest..what is this interest? mortgage agent was asking..
    shiiiit..we ended up with mortgage on my wife only(and i paid it in full within year or so)..no one in this messed up mortgage industry would understand your trading profits..no wonder they failed..

just apply as regular soft engineer with paycheck..leave your profits(if any) alone

4. Sully

Sully

If you fill out an application as "unemployed" and can't prove your trading income for the past two years, please don't blame the mortgage industry for not rolling out the red carpet and giving you a blank check.