Anyone using Sterling here

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by coolyung, Jan 27, 2008.

1. coolyung

coolyung

Hello everyone,
    I am a prop trader using Sterling software, and considering programming my trading stragegy as automated trading. Is there anyone using Stering trading software here? Is ATS well supported by Sterling? Thank you so much in advance.

2. Sterling has an API....albeit somewhat "warty"....but then again, there has been no API including Interactive Brokers without problems.
    My rec is for you to initially implement your ATS with Excel and the Sterling API. This will save you some $$$$.
    Once it is stable (and profitable), you can spend some big bucks to port it to C++ or other compiled languages.

3. nitro

nitro

Yes, my ATS runs on Sterling as well as other APIs (FIX, RedSky/ITG, Redi, TT, IB, ORC, Actant).

I would tell you to avoid it if you can. It is essentially five year old technology that they have never updated. Not just the API, but the documentation as well. They simply don't care about API users.

For lite weight stuff it is barely ok. I will say that I am not a typical user and that I have extremely high standards, FWIW.

nitro

4. ntiro, which of the platforms use you do you like the best?

5. Nitro - for a company with a market share and strong software developers like Sterling, this is a bit strange, no ?
    My deep suspicion is they are afraid the use of the API will cut into the licensing fees of their "manual" platform.
    This is the same story at ESignal I believe...many have complained about that API as well.

6. nitro

nitro

I agree it is strange. I don't have an answer, but I guarantee you it is true.

nitro

7. nitro

nitro

I give you a two part answer.

1) For most traders on ET, really you can't go wrong with IB. When I was with RedSky (now ITG) they were truly the best. I don't know now that ITG has taken them over, but I imagine it is the same or better