Anyone using ACTIV? (tick level data)

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by WinstonTJ, Mar 31, 2010.

1. How much data can they push before I start running into issues on their end.

Sterling is a single-threadded application and started maxing out for me around 900 data points. ACTIV is better but I'm looking to expand from about 9000 data points to 12k or 15k realtime data points.

ACTIV is great but approaching Bloomberg B-Pipe prices when I start looking at London and NYSE. Will ACTIV max out at a certain point?

Anyone with experience please chime in.

Thx.

2. thstart

thstart

What happens?

3. Long answer: The quote server bogs down and can not supply quotes to me and any other individual attempting to use that quote server.

Short: Quotes are delayed.

4. Anyone ?

5. I've had some experience with Activ and other full-market all-message feeds.

Even if you are equities only, the peak message rate has increased by so much in the last few years, you will need a multi-threaded feed handling app to keep up. You'll also need a fairly powerful multi-core cpu (or two of them). Lots of RAM helps too. My advice is to use multiple ring buffers and hash maps (write your own, don't use the slow boost or std:tr1 versions) and manage thread priorities based on whichever of these starts to fall behind.

I used to parse feeds in Java, but had to move back to C/C++ because Java just couldn't keep up.

Which Activ feed are you looking into? Are you on Windows or Linux?

6. I am looking to for a windows based solution. I have a quad machine, running windows 7 with 2gig memory.

Hopefully this is enough.

7. Occam

Occam

I think NxCore is easier to implement than Activ and is cheaper (at least at default pricing). But Activ has a broader range of data and markets covered (e.g., BBO + 10 for the major equities exchanges, as well as more non-North-American exchanges).