Anyone use Wilmott finance forum (serving Quantitive finance community

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by Nana Trader, Dec 6, 2005.

1. I can see Wilmott forum very focused around data processing analysis with all computing power, opposed to ET forum where seems everything is more about visual analysis and manual handling

Look at here, technical forum from Wilmott with 35000 members
    http://www.wilmott.com/categories.cfm?catid=4
    Though i have some knowledge of easylangauge, VB+Excel,
    SQLserver, access,... I don't understand any of discussions

Now, I have been told trading isn't science, even their
    forum sponsors differs from ET which geared more
    toward programing or some seems non-trading related
    to me at least :confused:

What is your take on this? Should i sign up?
    Do you really need too much of digital power

2. i know a few of the players there. wilmott is mainly quant trading, arb, exotics, and the like.

they are traders for inst. desks and not retail. imo

also keep in mind, for example, 100MM type funds are not flexible animals. hence the move towards arbs, exotics, etc.

find a happy medium

--RS

3. Yeah, I keep track of Wilmott, I was a member over there before ET, hence different handles. Problem is that Wilmott is much more focused on pricing models rather than my current interest which is on market microstructures. So I am keeping track of the discussion there a bit less. It is not just system programming (which I am completely interested in), it is also the analytical models over there.

There are people that believe pricing and modeling is trading, and then there are people who believe otherwise. In terms of participant quality, there are a little more pure academic discussions over there, so there a little more brain teasers, but less market and rumors. There are just as many trolls and fanatics over there.