Anyone making money?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by IHuman, May 19, 2010.

1. IHuman

IHuman

Hello guys.

I am an isolated trader who knows nothing of other traders and what they are upto.

I am a prop trader and have been since 1999.

I am slowly coming to a realisation that I can no longer compete with
    HFT , computerized trading , automated trading, marketmakers, etc.

Is there any money to be made? If so how?

Or has this game passed me by? I am starting to think so.

I have not made money in nearly one year. I am at my wits end.

Any suggestions?

2. If you started in 1999 then you have more experience and knowledge than 99% of the traders here. Having a tough year is not a big deal, provided that you have all the fundamentals right - such as discipline, and money management. Statistically you should expect that. You can always sit back until you regain your confidence. You may also need to think hard about what can you change in your game to improve it - timeframe, expenses, automation, different markets etc. Also think in terms of alternatives - if you don't trade what else can you do instead to get income from? If you have a good enough alternative - forget trading and do that :) Financial markets are perfectly competitive - zero barriers to entry, same information - so by definition it's not the best business you want to be in. If you trade against a single person - with your experience you are almost guaranteed to beat them - but against millions of traders, it's a totally different game.

3. the fact that you started in 99 would let me believe you are inherently bullish as I believe the first year of a trading career "impregnate" a trader with a bias that reflects the behaviour of markets he experienced during that 1st year.