Anyone made money using Elliott Waves ?

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by zanek, Aug 14, 2009.

1. zanek

zanek

Forgive me if this is a naive or stupid question, but I'm just starting out with trying to learn Elliott Waves (EW) using Glenn Neely's book, but its a huge time commitment, so I dont want to spend months practicing and learning it just to find out it only works 20% of the time.

So, can anyone who has used Elliott Waves successfully help me out by answering the following questions:

1. What percentage of the time are waves accurate ?

2. Do you use any software to generate the wave counts/classes ?

3. How much guess work is involved with using EW in your opinion ?

4. Is there anything more accurate or better than Elliott Waves ?

Any other experiences or tips you can provide would be most appreciated. Thanks !

2. Lucrum

Lucrum

I've watched EW gurus being interviewed on FNN/CNBC and have been reading posts/trades of EW disciples on message boards for just over 20 years now.
    This includes so called "experts" and guys who had spent a tremendous amounts of times studying EW "rules" and they know as much about EW as anyone.

On the Raging Bull site there were a couple dozen or so guys who shared trading thoughts and idea of which almost all were EW guys. Over the course of several years all but one or two abandoned EW. These were otherwise smart guys with trading experience and tons of EW "knowledge". They just couldn't make it work.

One of the issues is the subjectivity of what constitutes a "wave". Which leads to more subjectivity of where are in the wave count. Hence the constant and non stop debate and discussion among wavers on the various possible wave counts.
    Hell, as a rule wavers can't seem to even be able to agree on whether they should be looking at the "bear count" or the "bull count". Then of course there are all the "alternate counts" they also can't agree on.