Anyone have a T1 line?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by seadog, Dec 7, 2007.

1. seadog

seadog

Was wondering on the speed, does it make a difference?
    Costs?
    Thanking you in advance.
    seadog

2. well most internet connections are rather robust compared to 1999 when i started trading.

However, the larger you trade the more significant the power of your connection is. Going down for a few minutes while not a tragedy can make the difference at the times when you are closing trades or putting them on.

I have traded over all types, a hard wired t1 is has always been the best but even they go down. so will your firms and clearing firms servers.

People used to pay for direct lines installed into home or office, im not sure if the internet has overtaken that.

I think most of the firms in NYC and Chicago have direct lines.

I think the bottom line is that the larger your leverage and shorter your trade timeframe, the more you shoudl spend on an internet or direct line to the marketplaces.

3. you dont need a t1 anymore

just use this software or something like this

http://josh.com/teepipe/index.htm

and use several el cheapo cable or DSL connections.

better speed, better reliability, lower price.

4. tscislaw

tscislaw

If you have a cable internet provider, go with them.

Cable is around 3Mbps, whereas T1 is only 1.5Mbps.

5. I have cable, has been out 5 minutes in the last year and pings my broker in 25 ms. T1 is no better. I pay $40 a mo.

6. Jachyra

Jachyra

I currently have a T1 and it costs me $325 per month, which I thought was a great deal when I did it 2 years ago. Obviously I love it because its super fast and rock solid. It has never gone out on me once since I've had it (at least not that I've noticed).