anyone dare to take ES home ?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by andrasnm, Nov 18, 2001.

1. ok. I don't buy the daytrading paradigm anymore 100% but
    when things move overnight and stops are useless whatdaya do ?????. In futures if properly executed you can make a living from some DT and a lot of big or small home runs.
    Since I started in futures there are lots of changes - it now has become 7/24 affair - sp indecies are traded around the clock and Globex has finally "grown up".
    Is anyone here take indecies home at all ???? If so how do you
    have the balls, even if has sizeable profit (which would warrant
    such a move your stops may or may not work.

2. DaveN

DaveN

andrasnm,

I'll take the NQ home overnight. I'd like to say that I sleep without worry, but that's not so. My test is this: if I can't sleep, then I've got too much risk. If I sleep like a baby...well, then I must be flat...

I'm a mechanical trader. My solution to this issue has been by testing heavily. I've got seven years of historical intraday data, plus EOD continuous contract data bact to the inception of the ND and SP. (Is that enough for me? Nope, that's why I sleep with "some worry"). I've tested both the overnight moves on an absolute basis as well as the worst overnight moves in my systems.

Since "my worst loss has yet to be realized," I'm going to be taking an extreme view. I know my 1 standard deviation loss in my system, so I'll first look at 3 to 5 times that amount. I'll also do the same with the absolute overnight moves and assume that I'm in the opposite position. Next for comparison, I'll take the worst case of each of the above and triple that. (Within reasonable limits--e.g. a 5X500point=$50,000/contract loss isn't possible with the NAZ at 1600).