Anybody Want to Talk About Forex?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by oldtime, Aug 19, 2012.

1. I went into this weekend flat and it's about enough to drive me stir crazy. I always like that Sunday gap, it really is gambling at it's finest.

It's been about a year now since I started trading forex. I think my first post was "What is forex and how do you do it?"

Another good one was, "Why is the commission on USD.CHF only $2.50 but the commission on CHF/JPY $193?"

Forex has been very good to me and quite enjoyable. I'm not sure why everybody doesn't do it.

It reminds me of the early days of ES when even a little guy could get a break.

at anyrate, I have nothing better to do until 17:15 et when my broker (ib) opens but talk. After that I get a little sullen and withdrawn and don't see the point of it all.

2. contra

contra

It's all I trade, so naturally, I'd have to be in on a convo about it.

Volume in FX is at extreme lows right now, and vols are softer then baby wipes. I think some people are selling shorter dated vols to pay for 1m as for the events coming up in September should bring some volatility. We have the ECB, NFP, FOMC, German Court date, Troika etc...

Until then.. I'll be on the 1hr trying to pick off some pips where I can unless we get further development.

I think we might have seen a higher squeeze in Euro if it weren't for the SNB.

3. might have known you'd show up. Just because we don't reply to every post on your journal doesn't mean we don't read it and enjoy it.

To be honest with you, I'm not very good at predicting the future, I just put it on and manage it by adding to winners and adding to losers and taking my profits and losses.

I was really skeptical about the peg, I never thought it would last this long. Those boys at the SNB are serious, and they say the only way they will break it is if EUR goes too high.

4. contra

contra

Cool OT.