Any pure mechnical traders or system traders?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by feng456, Nov 30, 2010.

1. feng456

feng456

I'm just wondering...I've seen a lot of discretionary traders here and other places, some of whom seem to be successful for a long time.

Are there any pure mechanical/system traders here that are successful and have been for at least a year or two?

2. empee

empee

yep, what did you want to know?

3. I'm too stupid to trade any other way.

4. feng456

feng456

well theres hope for me afterall then...

I am struggling to make profits and I can't really figure out why. Maybe either of you would be so kind to share some of your wisdom? I am willing to disclose more details via email or PM.

5. I believe in dialogueing publicly for the benefit of the entire community, so I don't do PM. If you can post without revealing proprietary details, have at it.

6. feng456

feng456

ok well im a mechanical trader and i build systems. i'll give you an overview of my procedure and maybe you can see something wrong that i dont.

1. i come up with an idea first..i.e. buy everytime x crosses y.
    2. I backtest a year's worth of data to find the optimal stops and targets (if it works at all).
    3. I crossvalidate with 3 months of virgin data, from the past to confirm similar results with similar parameters.
    4. I go live and trade exactly in everyway as I would when i backtested so that by keeping the variables the same it can be as relevant as possible.

When I backtest I only count target fills when price as exceeded the target. Since I trade the ES, slippage has not been an issue for me. Also I've live traded my latest system for 4 months now with 30% of expected performance so either I'm:

a) in a losing streak, which a similar thing did occur once in my backtesting
    b) missing something crucial and I don't really have an edge
    c) doing something wrong fundamentally in my entire approach.