Any plays on earnings - 10/29/12

Discussion in 'Options' started by daveo1, Oct 27, 2012.

1. daveo1

daveo1

Hey guys I am a new options trader (fairly new) and they say the best way to learn your way is to see others play. I figure it may be hopeless to try an find people in my area who are dedicated traders so here I am trying this out.

My techniques have made me profitable by a few percent year after initially winning big and losing a little more, then ultimately gaining enough. ha

In any case I have been enjoying the volatility that comes with earnings and have been buying out right calls and puts the day or two before.

I am thinking about buying up to a week before on what people "think" the earnings will be because I am clearly noticing the sway of the market towards beliefs just before earnings.

Recent plays were a positive on a FB straddle and ACI straddle.

Aside from myself and what I have been up to (SELFISH ha). I was hoping to see other people's views for this week coming around.

Before I see others posts, I am bullish on earnings for PFE, F, and CHK. (Obviously F is very questionable). I am doing research on SIRI, RL, K, and Clorox over the weekend. Might not get to all of them of course considering I am pretty thorough.

Anyways any input and I'll be around. Thanks

2. Bry

Bry

huge thread on this "My Option Trades" started by Ryan Patrick

3. He should be aware this is a very risky, dart throwing type strategy, and Ryan who was doing the same thing, stopped posting after his last 3 or 4 trades.
    I hope he is doing ok. But he risked about 1/3 of his account on those last 3 or 4 trades, and the trades didn't go well.
    It's the type of strategy that sounds good in theory.
    And it generally works when paper trading.
    But is very risky, unpredictable, and potentially devastating in the "real world" over time.

Waaaaay to much "guessing and hoping" involved.
    Using it for the occasional trade is one thing.