Any Operating System recommendation?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jliu21, Jun 5, 2010.

1. jliu21

jliu21

Hi, buddies

This is my first post. I am a newbie in the stock market. After two months lurking in the forum, I built my own desktop yesterday with the Microcenter sale. Here is my built machine:

AMD Phenom II X4 B55 (unlocking from X2 555, $99 @ microcenter.com)
    Biostar TA785GE 128M mobo ($30 @microcenter.com after 40off)
    8GB DDR2 memory ($200)
    1 TB Samsung F3 spinpoint HDD with Samsung DVD RW ($80 for this combo deal@ewiz.com)
    Two 17" Dell monitors bought from university yard sale ($90 total)

I think this desktop is powerful enough for my trading. I want to buy a 64-bit operating system (i.e, Win 7 64 bit, Vista 64-bit) to maximize my memory utility. However, I found most trading software, such as IB, Tradestation, recommend Win XP 32-bit as a reliable platform. So, is anybody can give me some suggestions for the operating system? Thanks in advance.

Jerry

2. We usually suggest people build systems "backwards" meaning know what you need to run and how many monitors of what resolution before buying parts.

But since you are where you are, your next step is to decide what you are going to trade on. If you're new and just trading a couple trades here and there to tinker, get your feet wet and hopefully turn a profit, then you'll probably be trading in a browser.

I can't see anyone new in the market doing anything with leverage, scalping, day trading, etc.

So that's where you are - figure out what platform you're going to use. If you're going to be trading through a browser then any OS should work. BTW: I run applications on Win 7 x64 even though software vendors say it won't work; what that means is that they won't support your tech issues if you have any.

3. Redneck

Redneck

OP,

Welcome

Fwiw

I’ve used XP Professional for several years with no issues.