Any MQL4 programmers?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by dnaj65000, Jan 17, 2009.

1. I was wondering if there are people familiar with writing code in MQL4 that could help me out. I'm new to programming and I'm trying to write an EA that will have two parameters before trading.

The first parameter is to define a day as 9am GMT to 9am GMT. This way I can define the day starting at London's open.

The second parameter is to check if profit for the day is greater than a set number of pips...example 20 pips.

The idea is to allow the EA to trade starting at 9am GMT and keep trading until >=20 pips is reached. Then the profit is reset to 0 for the next day.

Thanks in advance for any help.

2. For the timing problem not sure the following is an optimal solution but it's an idea that might be useful:

if (TimeDay(Time - TimeZone*3600)!=TimeDay(Time[i+1] - TimeZone*3600))

with TimeZone being an external variable determining the offset.

You'll probably need to account for weekends though so something like

if ( (TimeDayOfWeek(Time - TimeZone*3600)==0) || (TimeDayOfWeek(Time + TimeZone*3600)==0) )

might need to be another condition that needs to precede the previous one.

3. this should give you a good idea...

to define parameters the user can enter when applying your strategy to a MT chart, you do like this outside of the start() function, eg:

Code:
    [color=blue]
    extern double PipsTarget = 0;
    int start()
    {
    // strategy code here
    return 0;
    }
    [/color]

to check for profits, this is sort of messy in MQL. First you have to use OrderSelect to select the right order or position that you want profit data for.... here's profit by position:

Code:
    [color=blue]
    // previously you've saved order id 
    somewhere, whenever you sent order
    // you could also get the last order 
    number using OrderTicket();
    int myordernumber = OrderSend(..);

// then when we check for profit on the