Any Good Book/Course Recommendations Please for C#?

Discussion in 'App Development' started by tommo, Dec 26, 2019.

1. tommo

tommo

Hi,

I've been a professional futures trader for 12 years. I am looking to learn coding for obvious trading/career benefits.

My plan so far is learn c# basics via traditional learning methods, but want to get working on trading systems asap. I think the only way i'm going to learn properly is by playing around with code in a trading environment as it is not exactly interesting learning abstract concepts with no obvious application to trading. After 6 hours of getting an "if statement" to tell you how old you are i still feel a million miles from ever being able to build a trading system.

I picked c# as NinjaTrader runs this and is a flexible, inexpensive way to test out my c# skills.

However, im struggling finding a resource to bridge the gap between books on learning C# fundamentals and something that applies it to trading.

Are there any good books or courses that take a beginner in c# and blend it with the trading world? I suspect probably not as i've searched a fair bit. But this would be hugely helpful.

Thanks

2. 2rosy

2rosy

3. schizo

schizo

If you're a complete noob, then the best resource is to watch YouTube videos. For instance, this one is really good:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLTjRvDozrdlz3_FPXwb6lX_HoGXa09Yef

4. shatteredx

shatteredx

1. Build a basic strategy in the Strategy Builder and then Unlock Code to examine the C# to see how a basic strategy is coded.

2. Look at examples for doing common tasks like setting stops, etc. in the Reference Samples forum. https://ninjatrader.com/support/forum/forum/ninjascript-educational-resources/reference-samples

3. If the above is too overwhelming, consider using TradeStation instead as it uses a much simpler coding language and there are many full strategy codes floating around online for it.

5. Snuskpelle

Snuskpelle