Any Advice?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Stu_utterguy, Dec 1, 2007.

1. I've recently graduated from a state school with a mediocre GPA. I've been trading for about 7 years, I started with $20K and I have grown my account to around $280K. I have also used this account to pay for my living expenses, taxes, and a car. So, my results would be better, accounting for these factors.

I understand that luck can account for probably a large portion of my success, therefore I am looking to leverage this
    experience into a good job, that I probably would not have been able to obtain based on my credentials such as GPA. I will continue to manage my portfolio on the side, but I believe that I still have much to learn about managing money. I think my performance indicates that I have some talent in valuing companies, so I would be offering value to prospective employers.

Basically, I am wondering if there is anyone who can provide any useful advice on how to obtain a position under these circumstances.

2. bump!

3. MTE

MTE

If you have a verifiable track record then I doubt people would care about your GPA.

4. volente_00

volente_00

Why do you want to answer to somebody else when your performance implies you can be your own boss ?

5. MTE: How do I get my track record in the hands of people who could give me capital?

volente: How can I become a boss of a large enough fund to cover living expenses ~2M, with only 280K and a 7 year track record.

In other words, I'm looking to leverage what I've done into either capital to start my own fund or a position within an existing HF or PE that would enable me to start my own fund within 3-5 years.

Any input, from anyone, on how to make this happen?? Or is there anyone on the board who can make this happen???

6. ml77

ml77

Do you want to go into a bank or a prop firm ?

Your performance is very good, and given your age it's even exceptional !

How old were you when you started ?