Any advice for a beginner short-term trader?

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by tian, Mar 16, 2003.

1. tian

tian

Just wondering if anyone has advice for a beginner at short-term trading?

I'm going to be using technical analysis for this (since its easier to access). Currently I am a college student (1st year, just started the school year). Unfortunately, not many days off (I only get friday off, although I go to school late most days).

I'm aiming not just to daytrade, but mainly for weekly trading. I'm a total beginner at this - just finished reading a few books about the basics of trading.

One of the "advantages", if you call it that, is that I can watch my stock perfomance without "wasting time" (since I need the Internet for studying at same time anyway). So I am really looking for small gains - something to the extent of $50 to cover the discount internet broker's costs and earn a bit of side money.

However, I only have $2000. I am willing to borrow a further $10,000 to get myself started, since some banks here have special student loans (without even asking why).

Does anyone have any advice, or recommending reads for me at this stage?

2. Trust me bud, the last thing you want to do is go borrowing money when you are a first year student so you can 'play' the market. The odds are very good that you will lose a good part of that money, if not all of it. And the pisser is that you have to pay it back one day.
    Why not play with a simulator for a few years while you finish school? Then you'll be able to hit the markets running. The stock market isn't going to close because you went to school for too many years. The more years you spend developing methodologies, the less apt you'll be to blow up when you finally do get some cash burning a hole in your wallet.
    If you decide to ignore my advice, please have the courtesy to inform me of what trades you'll be making. I can use the cash...

Luck!

3. silk

silk