Any Advice? Anyone want to help a rookie out?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by Antihero1776, Apr 14, 2009.

1. What would you recommend for software for back testing and automating a system?

What would you recommend for data service?

Want to be able to get Interdata data as far back as possible. Just 5 min on up. No tick.

What would you recommend for a broker?

I currently have IB.

How about hardware?

Thanks,

The Rookie (Antihero1776)

2. travis

travis

What would you recommend for software for back testing and automating a system?

I will recommend what I used. I am really ignorant about programming so I used excel for automating my system, building on the IB API sample sheet. For back testing I'd recommend Tradestation (I used the 2000i version). These are not necessarily the best tools, but they worked for me, so they must be pretty simple and efficient. As I said, I am not an advanced programmer. I majored in Political Science, and only recently I taught myself vba.

What would you recommend for data service?
    For live data, I recommend once again IB, and for the past data, I'd recommend AN Futures, or DiskTrading, but once again I am not an expert. But I can tell you they offer unexpensive data, and not corrupted.

What would you recommend for a broker?
    I'd recommend IB, for its efficiency, for its scale (so many people use it, and that makes things better) and its low commissions.

How about hardware?