Any "accidental" career traders out there?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by luckydogg, May 28, 2006.

1. luckydogg

luckydogg

I was just wondering here if anyone became a career trader more by accident than by plan? The reason I am asking is that I have been trading for about 6 years.... I started out as the result of a very bad mistake, now I would like to do it full time as a career. Here's my story for what it's worth:

My first experience with trading came when I took all the money I had saved for a downpayment on a house, and moved it from a money market account into the stock market to see if I could beat the paltry 4% MM interest I was making. I really had no clue how the market worked, all I knew is that everyone I knew was making money in the market and I finally decided to take the plunge and make it work for me too. So, on March 10, 2000 I opened an Ameritrade account, got approved for margin, and I proceeded to buy a total of 3 tech stocks using all my captial and 50% of my margin. Yes it was a horror story in the making, I made every mistake in the book at exactly the wrong time. And, since March 10 was about a week before the market reached it's final failed attempt to rally beyond the dot com bubble high, I am one of those few unfortunate fools who can claim to have quite literally "bought the top", of the tech bubble. Needless to say, after 3 months of agonizing stress, 2 margin calls, and losing 80% of my house downpayment money I finally gave up and called it quits. It was time to finally just admit I f-ed up and get on with my life.