Anxious to Begin - Clueless Where or How

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by PaulistaTrader, Jul 21, 2008.

1. Hey everyone, I am looking for some sound advice from experienced traders.

Currently I am a student studying economics at a top university in the United Kingdom (I am 19, turning 20 this year). I am doing a year abroad to study economics in Brazil. I am still a full-time student and would like to become a part-time trader as my studies are of a greater priority.

I currently have about $6,000 saved up that I would like to invest, mostly to gain experience for a future job. In the end, my goal is to work in the financial sector, at an investment bank. However, my knowledge of financial markets is very limited. (I only gained a real interest in finance a couple of months ago when I had an epiphany that finance was the best thing to do with an economics degree. ) I am currently reading an MBA textbook in finance, and will hopefully try to lead into financial economics.

I have thought of two options. Use a simple program such as E*Trade and create a diverse portfolio, setting aside around $2k for high-risk/growth stocks. Or, try to find a way to invest this money in Brazil and specialize in Brazilian markets which seem to be the way forward considering the US/UK markets.

So I have a few questions? Is this a good strategy? Are there any text-books/online sites you would recommend? Does my knowledge of economics/maths give me any advantage in the field?

Thanks in advance,
    PaulistaTrader

2. Do a search on "How to get started". This board has numerous threads on this subject. Also, the Newbie FAQ answers this question and is a must read.

3. JOEY O

JOEY O

Just from experience... It is going to be hard to create a diversified portfolio with only 6 grand, especially on E-Trade. Without trading a large volume, the $20 round trip commissions eat your money alive.