answer this if you make money

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Gordon Gekko, Aug 21, 2002.

1. i've been trading for 3+ years and i know entry setups are not all that matters. i know all about money management, etc. however, i still believe a good entry is needed.

if you're a good trader, please give me your honest opinion of these 2 concepts.

1-enter on extremes and exit when they revert to the mean.

2-find strong trends, for example, both the 5sma and 20sma are sloping up. go long and exit on the first profitable close. if you limited your losses, it might work because you're going with the trend.

i know i did not include how the trades would be managed, but i'm talking about concepts here. are you people that are making money doing anything like this? or am i completely in the wrong ball park?

2. Gordie as sharp as you are, your post surprises me. The first scenario reminds me of Bollinger Bands which I do not use. Although it seems the multitudes do so I'd say that concept is right on.

As many of the other guys know, I love the moving averages. I do use the 20sma, but not the 5. For me it is too sensitive and I want a bigger piece of the pie per trade.

But that method is right on as well. Pardon me for asking, but it seems there might be something else on your mind. Probably not, old careers die hard.

I know one thing for sure...

3. lol can you elaborate please?

4. bone

bone

I know what you're doing, I shake you out, and I pick up the pieces.

5. i don't use them either. in fact, i pretty much hate all indicators. price, volume, and a couple moving averages are all i use now.

6. throw me a bone.

7. I'm not even a volume guy...as much of a sin as that is. I run the most common indictors and MA's at the most common settings. I just want to ride on the bus, not blaze new trails.