Another One Bites The Dust - Resume Help

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by jtmarlin, Jan 21, 2007.

1. jtmarlin

jtmarlin

Let me be brief. I've been trading for over 4 years full time and I have never developed a reliable and profitable trading method. I would like to get back into the IT industry as I have over 15 years experience prior to trading full time. I'm not giving up on trading I'm just going to work full time in IT and trade part time for now.

My problem is I have a 4 year gap on my resume and I'm not sure I can come up with enough references from prior jobs as people tend to move around in the computer business. The last 3 companies I worked for have been bought out by competitors and the entire IT staffs have changed so prior references will be hard to find. Should I list my last job as a Day Trader or come up with something a little more creative. I'm willing to start in a lower position and move back up as I need to get a couple of new certifications to bring me up to speed. I still provide computer services to a couple of small businesses from my old IT days, maybe I could say I've been servicing small businesses? Anyone with a similar experience who can offer any suggestions or ideas on how I could fill the gap on my resume would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
    JT

2. Sorry to hear that your trading career didn't work out. Hope you dont' mind if I ask for some advice since you've been at it for 4 long years.

In your opinion, why do you think the trading career didnt work out? Was it due to irrecoverable blowups? Or was it just a slow grinding down of capital? Psychological? Or was this just a personal choice?

3. nkhoi

nkhoi

4. opm8

opm8