Another new trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by ziyan, Jun 16, 2011.

1. ziyan

ziyan

Hi everyone,
    I've recently started at a prop trading firm. While trading, I feel like every time I go long, the market goes down and vice versa. I could almost swear the entire market is working against me, but I'm sure this isn't the case. What is my problem and how can I improve my timing with confidence in my executions? I use a trend-following strategy and try to be reactive to stock movements. I realize that I am still a complete novice (it's my third day) and I have much to learn. What can I do to survive?
    I'd highly appreciate any helpful information I can get.
    Thanks!

2. If you're in a slump take a few weeks off from live trading and switch to paper trading until you get your confidence back. Look back at all of your entries and exits (especially for losing trades) and look for things they had in common that you can improve on. Figure out what the mistakes you made were and what you can learn (e.g., 'Setup X does not work on a day when the market is doing Y').

Another suggestion is to come up with a non trend following strategy you can use for days that seem like they have a high chance of being sideways / range-bound days. Trend following setups can be extremely effective on some days but aren't always the best thing to use many days in certain market conditions.

You could also make a point of scaling into your trades more slowly in smaller chunks so can have a higher chance of winning trades.

And if you're way off, it might even be possible to adapt a method where you change your previous long setups into short setups and vice versa.

Once you go back live for your first week, just start trading small share size until you're back on track in terms of consistency.