Another, "Is it just me..."

Discussion in 'Options' started by trader56, Jul 10, 2006.

1. I find this Forum, and the people on to be WAY beyond the level of discussion presented on most of the other fora.

Now, I'm still new to options and learning, but these discussions usually get me heading for the books to look things up, and I have to read like mad to understand the conversations.

So...am I really that new, or are a LOT of these discussions really that far ahead of the others that appear on ET?
    Maybe it's just unique to options?

2. Some discussions here are almost impossible to follow while others are at the other extreme. Of course, there are a whole bunch in between. If you are not familiar with options and their terminology then it can be a bit daunting. Once you've brushed up on the topic it will be easier to follow the jargon. But you are right, options are by far the most complex financial derivatives to understand. However, you don't need to be fluent in the lingo to become successful :) nor do you need to be a rocket scientist, but you will need skill in money management and you will need to understand how options work, i.e. their greeks and what affects them and how to exploit this information. It makes stock trading look like kindergarten.
    Best
    daddy's boy

3. mummy's daughter asks:

if daddy's boy thinks that trading stocks look like kindergarten then why is daddy's boy trading options?

does daddy's boy want to be macho or does daddy's boy want to make money? (in kindergarten it should be easier....)

what is mummy's daughter missing?

thank you
    Maria

4. Hi MM not replying for DB but I assume he meant that trading stocks is simple in the fact it is purely directional. Options have several other components to look at and evaluate...however when you learn this you can make MORE money trading options with LESS risk than the purely directional trades in stock.