Android or iPhone?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by stevegee58, Mar 31, 2014.

1. I'm looking into getting my first smart phone. I'm an engineer and engineers in the office seem to prefer the Samsung line of Android phones. But I have met a couple of engineers that use iPhones too.

I hear that iPhones "just work" i.e. there's no futzing around, things are intuitive etc. To me it sounds like a bunch of marketing crap but I want to hear what others think.

I'll be using it for the usual googling but also checking and possibly managing trades on my brokers. Both of them have iPhone and Android trading apps.

I'd also like to use it as a WiFi hotspot for my laptop at work to bypass my company's network which is heavily monitored and doesn't work all that well anyway since we're forced to use IE8.

Since I'm a software guy I'd like to have the option of developing my own apps to run on my smartphone. Maybe one is better at this than the other.

So let's hear it.

2. NoBias

NoBias

I am extremely impressed with android and Google's Nexus 5 & 7.

In addition to the below comments, Android devices can be connected via USB and are recognized as any other drive.

Nexus devices are capable of being used as wifi hotspot's, merely a check box in settings. NO additional fee.

iPhone tethering is usually blue tooth, USB or not supported by carrier. Third party wifi apps for iPhone 'if still available" can be $100+/year.

Easy uploading/downloading/editing. With a "go cable" and ES file explorer file management App you can read/transfer files from flash memory via USB
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.estrongs.android.pop

Additionally file transfer can be accomplished wirelessly via Air Droid
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.sand.airdroid

HTC and Samsung phones are also extremely good, however, Nexus is pure android experience, where other manufactures "modify" android slightly. Not a deal breaker...