An Attempt to Learn How to Trade Consistently and Profitably

Discussion in 'Journals' started by attempt, Jan 16, 2021.

1. attempt

attempt

Been through ups and downs in my trading, started with low capital and I still have a low amount of capital compared to others. Want to start this journal to keep track of my backtrades(trades that I go back in time to do not bar by bar, but second by second) and real trades. I've been interested in markets since October 2017, when I graduated high school and currently am still in college with some amount of capital. Net PnL over my entire trading career is negative and I wish to change that by actually keeping track of a journal since I never could do it before. I didn't trade the entire 3 years I was trading maybe only around 1.5 years. Took some time off and on for school.

My Career: I started in penny land and made around $1.5k on $2k until I lost it all then started to day trade some tech stocks. Kept losing, and am still losing. Types of trading and trading instruments I have done are: daytrading, scalping, options, swingtrading, coins.

Trades I take I wouldn't know how to categorize but I wish to categorize, if I were to try to categorize them at this point in time it would trend following scalps, although I wish to aim for longer term daytrades(holding for more then one leg), but trading longer term daytrades cause me to question my position too much because I do not know if it is a counter trend or not when price moves against me. I do not have a basic strategy like double bottom, I purely trade on my experience watching markets for 3 years(price action? although I do hope to consolidate how I trade).

Although I am all over the place I plan to try to consolidate myself and my plan in the upcoming trading year. This is for my personal self improvement, but questions and comments are appreciated.