An Accountant's Journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Accountant_23, May 22, 2005.

1. Hello everyone,

I am starting this journal to keep myself disciplined with my strategy and to get some insight/comments from other traders.

A little background:

Currently, I am a full-time Tax Accountant working for a fortune 500 company. I also have a side bookkeeping/tax practice that keeps me busy nights & weekends. Don't worry about trading while at work, many of the accountants in my office do it and we actually discuss our trades.

For the past 3 years I have been focused on what most corporate employees focus on; long term cost averaging investing for retirement (401k, IRA, Mutual Funds). I've also studied the markets for the past 8 years and realized the opportunity there is in short term investing but I have never tried until this year.

After papertrading for about 3 months (since Jan. 05) I decided to finally open a margin account with an online brokerage. I papertraded my online brokerage for another month to familiarize myself with their platform. Then I started trading this month (May 05).

How I trade (I only trade stocks):

Since I am a beginner to Short-term trading, I am starting out very small. I am only trading Down Jones Components, since there are only 30 to study, and they are the core of how most people judge the stock market. I am trading 100 shares at a time. My goal is to make a 1% gain each trade and risk no more than .66%. That means if my entry is $30/share, I expect it to go to $30.30 that day for my gain then exit, and I will stop when it goes down to $29.80.