amibroker vs ninja

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by mushinseeker, Jun 30, 2013.

1. Hi y'all.

I have been programming amibroker for 3 years doing mid-level stuff -writing custom instruments, custom indicators, portfolio level backtesting,etc and I was wondering if there are advantages in moving to Ninjatrader. I want to start backtesting futures spreads hopefully leading to automated trading in the futures /fx space. Is the learning curve steep from Amibroker to Ninjatrader? Can Amibroker do most of the NT stuff short of automated trading?I know Amibroker recently created auto trading stuff for IB so I am wondering if switching will be worth it or should I just wait for AB to put out more auto stuff.

Thanks.

2. No, there is no advantage as NT can't do portfolio backtesting and can't do portfolio trading. Ask them and they will confirm.

Recently? It has been there for years (including portfolio trading)! You clearly have not used AB for 3 years, it seems.

3. IB auto trading module released June 2013 not portfolio testing wihch Ive been doing since 2010. Just to clarify George.

4. You are wrong again. Are you a clone of that ignorant j2ee guy? Auto trading modul has been available for around 9 years!

What you are talking about are the source codes that have been made available to members of AB since June 2013. Do you know what's a source code and what's the difference to a compiled application (again and just for you: been available for many years)?

If you don't wanna believe me if I tell you that auto trading has been available for 8 to 9 years then ask support of AB because I don't wanna argue with you since you don't wanna listen and don't wanna believe something being told you by more experienced AB users. :mad:

5. First off, I dont know why ur so hostile. I can discern from your hostility that u have some skin in the game with AB vs. NT.