Ameritrade(Datek) Direct

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by zxcv1fu, Nov 28, 2002.

1. zxcv1fu

zxcv1fu

Just start to check out this week, since the commission is $10.99 per order. I also have Real Tick which much more expensive, but has multi time frame real time charts.

Any one use the Datek Direct? Where do you get the real time charts?

2. bobcathy1

bobcathy1 Guest

I was with both Ameritrade and Datek and they stink. I lost thousands on poor fills, system crashes and unfilled phone orders. Really poor service and customer service is a joke. Do yourself a favor and avoid them!

I use TradeStation and IB now. Great service and fast fills.

3. You need to find a real broker ...

4. sun170

sun170

Im sorry but I must disagree with some of the points being made here. You say you get lousy fills??? Why are u using market orders???? I have been using Datek Direct for 2 years and must say that for 10.99 a trade it is well worth it. My orders go through usually in 1 sec. sometimes quicker, sometimes a little slower, but most of the time they are pretty fast. I trade every day and it is fairly consistent. I trade large positions in cheap stocks so it works out well. Though there is a down side to this. Customers service is more than a joke, its a nightmare. The people answering the phones know nothing about anything. And there are times, at least once every couple of months where you cant get on the system. Ive got off pretty easy for the past 2 years when dealing with these mishaps until about 3 weeks ago. I bought off of an ARCA on the offer and Datek actually lost my order. They actually lost thousands of orders that day. any way for the next 45 min. i sat on hold waiting for someone to answer the phone. I did not know if the order went through or not, but either way my account was frozen. I could do nothing. When I finally got through to the trading desk, (I almost smashed my monitor out of frustration while I waited on the phone watching the stock I was