American Express fin. advisor good or bad start?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by edollaz, Feb 11, 2005.

1. edollaz

edollaz

Hey everyone, im new to this thread, but have been lurking and reading posts for a while now. I just graduated in Finance a few months ago and want to get my series 7 licence and get started working. I was just offered a job by American Express as a fin. advisor in which I would be able to be sponsored for the series 7. Im already studying for the CFA level 1 in June. I realize if I were to accept the offer, I may have to put off my studying for the CFA. Is AmEx even a good company to work for? I have had trouble finding anywhere to get credible advice and figured there has to be some people here that would be able to give me some insight... Thanks very much for your suggestions, ill be appreciative of any ideas at all.

2. range

range

IMHO, a finacial advisor poistion is essentially a type of sales position, dealing with finances of course. The CFA will qualify you to be an institutional analyst. Two different things. Think about what you want, and then pursue that.

3. Truff

Truff

Don't waste your time. They will jerk you around for a few years, pay you crap, and make you work like a dog. There has to be plenty of other opportunities out there in that area.

4. Weasel

Weasel

If you are going to be an FA, do it with a true full service brokerage firm that offers more than just their own proprietary products. The house brand isn't always the best product for your clients. Failure rate of trainee financial advisors is very high. Unless you have cpa's and attorneys to refer clients to you or have rich family friends..........it will be an uphill climb. Good luck!

5. SH6

SH6