Am I crazy or is FXCM crooked?

Discussion in 'Forex Brokers' started by cking74, Jul 28, 2006.

1. cking74

cking74

I have been trading a little here and there with fxcm for about six months on a 100k account. Not an expert but my net is positive and I am getting a profit on about 90% of my trades.

SO today just before the GDP release I place two entry orders for GBP/USD. SELL 200K at 1.8542 with a stop at 1.8579 and BUY 200K at 1.8579 with a stop at 1.8542.

GDP data comes out and is very bearish for the dollar and yet I look with surprise as my sell order is hit and GBP goes down 1.8535. Uh, strange I thought. Then very quickly the GBP swings back around and my sell order is stopped out with a 37 pip loss and my buy order is tripped. Now, I rode my buy order up for a net 20 pip profit for the day so I cant complain too much.

And yet I was very bugged by this, how did the GBP drop about 16 pips very quickly on this news.

So I did some research and three other brokerages show that my sell order would not have tripped. Including Quote tracker with showed a low of 1.8551 at 12:30 GMT.

I called FXCM and all they said was they have a lot more banks and so their data feed so different from other brokerages.

I can only come to two conclusions:

1. One of the banks FXCM uses is very fast and savy enough to push the price down for just enough time to book a small short profit and then buy at a lower price for an even bigger long profit at the expense of FXCM clients. In which case why does FXCM use them.

or

2. FXCM falsely pushed the pair lower to trip stops on standing long positions and tripping new short positions that will quickly become losers.

Am I missing something???? Or do I need to bug out of FXCM and head to MB maybe?

BTW, if FXCM is doing this how have they not been shut down???

Thanks for any input.

2. ddunbar

ddunbar Guest

This thread might get long, so I'll keep it short.

Yes, leave FXCM.