Am I an idiot for wanting to quit my job?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by CReinhold, Jul 1, 2009.

1. CReinhold

CReinhold

I posted here a few months back about taxes and was helped out greatly and i appreciate it. As i continue to read, people here seem to be very restless. Hopefully, I don't get flamed too bad.

I recently graduated from a big ten university and I have been working at a very large retailer for 3 years and want to quit due to some things occuring that I do not want to be associated with.

I know I'll hear that i should just suck it up and be a man about it until i find another job, but I have sucked it up for 2 years and feel I am at my breaking point. I'm talking about working directly with known felons (credit card fraud and identity theft) that brag about stealing from the very company we work at, or my boss telling me that I need to flat out lie to customers to bring in additional $200 in labor revenue, or i will be "replaced with someone who will." I have called HR and they even suspended all the parties involved with the theft to perform an investigation. However, due to insufficient evidence, all the suspension turned out to be was a 3-week paid vacation. I have spoke with the GM of the store and he told me not to worry and assured me this is a very ethical company. Because I recently expressed my concerns with upper management, I feel like my days are numbered.

I've put up with this for so long because i was making $14 an hour as a college student and was paying for school. Now, my only expenses every month are my cell phone bill, gas and food. I have enough money saved up to last me several months as I continue my job search.

I'll also probably hear that if i want to quit, i should stop being a pussy and do it. I'm just concerned that if I get asked in an interview about why i left my previous job and i tell them the truth, i'd be committing an interview sin by bad mouthing my previous employer.